Talking about Bipolar

I am having this question on my mind: would it be okay to talk openly about my diagnosis and advocate for mental illness, break the stigma around it, make my contribution, or should I just not talk about it for now…

I said that I am fully accepting it. Why am so scared of how my friends are going to react? I am torn between talking about it and wanting to hide it. The thing is, I am not the person who doesn’t speak her mind. I am the person who always stands up for others, the advocate.

I guess I am going to risk it…hiding this is a great burden. I’d rather lose some of my friends and connections than keep it a secret. If they run, they were not good friends in the first place. What do you think? Which were the reactions you got? Are you able to talk openly about it?

 

Leave a Reply

