Annoyed

I am in grumpy mode today. And guess what got me this way? A talk about being positive and a friend telling me that “happiness is a choice”. I know all these quotes are meant to be encouraging, but it is also so annoying for a person who’s been struggling for most part of her life when others make it sound so easy.

I especially hate the “happiness is a choice” cliche because it makes it sound like a person chooses to struggle instead of “choosing happiness”. I don’t think anybody in this world would choose to live with suicidal thoughts lurking in the back of their mind all the time, nor choose to suffer in any way…

This whole “think positive” advice is really getting on my nerves. I though I was already immune to it, but it seems I am not.

2 thoughts on “Annoyed

  1. I completely agree with you.Why would any of us “choose” to be the way we are? The ones who believe that happiness is a choice don’t know how good they have it. I don’t wish my depression on anyone, but I wish I could give some people a little more insight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

