Mental Illness Tag

So, I have been tagged by a fellow blogger to write a little bit about my experience. I have to tell you that I am not in a very great place right now, so if this is going to have a little bit of a negative vibe, or if you can feel a bit of my anger through this, I am sorry. But I am going to try hard to keep it mellow.

So, it’s Mental Health Awareness month and “such a great time to be alive” for me. I have recently been through a lot…but I’m a warrior. Going to bloom and grow through this like a mountain flower in a very harsh environment.

Let’s start:

1. What mental illness do you have? My current “diagnosis” is Bipolar NOS. My last diagnosis was Major depression and anxiety. Diagnosing mental illnesses is not a linear process. It takes a lot of time and patience, and a lot of follow ups (at least this is my experience). I wish we had biological markers to check how our brains are, like the diabetic people can check their blood sugar levels.

2. When were you diagnosed? One year ago with depression and anxiety. A couple of days ago with bipolar. I will keep tracking my moods, since my diagnosis is very “broad”.

3. Who knows about it? Not too many people.

4. Do you receive treatment for it? Yes. Medication, talking therapy, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and seeing my psychiatrist regularly.

5. Has your mental illness stopped you from doing anything? My life has been a continuous roller coaster ride. I have been in many situation when I couldn’t accomplish certain tasks, some of my relationships have been affected, my productivity has to suffer overall. I would say that a mental illness is affecting you as a whole being. In all the fields of life.

6. Is there anything in particular that has helped you? My support group, my therapist, my doctor, and my passions.

7. Can you describe what it feels like to have your mental illness? Constantly falling from cloud 9 to the depths of hell and up again. No balance. Extremes. Feeling everything so intensely, both a blessing and a curse.

8. What is a common misconception about your mental illness? I heard so any…”you’re using your illness as an excuse”, “you have your ups and downs, like everybody else”, “can’t you just not think about it?”, “there’s nothing wrong with you, you are just a crazy artist”, “everybody thinks they have something these days, everybody is a bit depressed, anxious and a bit bipolar”. I could continue, but I think you get the idea.

9. What do you find the most difficult to deal with? I am really tired of explaining why I couldn’t attend a certain event, why I need extensions to be able to complete my projects sometimes, why I’m “so sensitive” and “over reacting”. At the moment I am trying to find balance somehow and I think this is the biggest challenge.

10. Do you have anything else you’d like to say? You are all beautiful, imperfect human beings. You are more than a label. You can achieve your dreams. You are unique and you should embrace it. Don’t ask “why me?”, say “try me!”. I believe in you, and I believe in myself. I believe that we are precious beings, worthy of love and happiness. You are not alone!

 

5 thoughts on “Mental Illness Tag

  1. You are such a beautiful soul. Your strength of spirit radiates through your words. Thank you for being so open and honest about your experience. Those of us that also suffer can look to your vulnerability and empathic strength. I really needed your answer to number 10 right now. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for doing my tag! I thought this was really interesting to read as I don’t know very much about bipolar and I can’t even imagine what it’s like to have such extreme moods. It’s really difficult to talk about these things and you can definitely feel your bravery while reading. I’m so glad to hear the commenter above. Achilles S, say that it’s helped them. Everyone’s tagged and hopefully we can all share our stories and help stop the stigma surrounding mental illness! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

