Up

These weeks of silent mourning for a normal life can teach one valuable lessons about gratitude. How many things do we take for granted? The answer: a lot, most of them.

I took for granted being able to sleep well, eat well, feel well. I took for granted being able to smile and dance and run and paint. I took for granted my feelings. I took for granted my body and its capacity to heal itself.

I am working on being more compassionate with myself. Loving myself more. Giving myself the care I need, the care I would offer to a friend, a loved one. I know that the resources are there just waiting to be rediscovered.

I think, once you hit rock bottom and manage to stay here, the only way is up. I am excited about the hard journey. After all, I love climbing mountains.

Leave a Reply

